Still / in motion

November 1, 2023 to June 2 2024
All day

This outdoor exhibit immerses visitors in some of the great spectacles of nature—playing out across the skies. Still / in motion juxtaposes the photographic artworks of Kathryn Cooper and Camille Seaman, two photographers demonstrating unique views of the fluidity of time and nature. Traveling in one direction, Camille Seaman showcases icebergs in the dramatic light of the Antarctic solstice. The darkening skies amplify the specter of disappearing ice in our rapidly changing polar regions. In the other direction, Kathryn Cooper combines multiple high resolution frames to capture the fluid-like movement of migrating starlings in rural England. Murmurations throughout the sky are transformed into dynamic patterns that reveal behaviours invisible to the naked eye. Together, these series of images inspire us to see the magnificent phenomena that is nature.

Curated by Rhonda Rubinstein, Still / in motion is produced by the Biosphère in partnership with the California Academy of Sciences (San Francisco).

California Academy of Sciences

The California Academy of Sciences is a renowned scientific and educational institution with a mission to regenerate the natural world through science, learning, and collaboration. Based in San Francisco’s Golden Gate Park, it is home to a world-class aquarium, planetarium, and natural history museum, as well as innovative programs in biodiversity science, environmental learning, and collaborative engagement—all under one living roof.

Kathryn Cooper is a photographer and scientist interested in capturing the beauty of complex natural systems. With a background in physics and bioinformatics (data science applied to biological systems) she has studied the structure and dynamics of complex networks. Her photography focuses on the fluid-like movement of starling murmurations that occur between November and March, when tens of thousands of starlings migrate to a local roost. She’s refined a modern approach to a 19th century technique called chronophotography: assembling a sequence of images to study motion. To illustrate a particular piece of murmuration choreography, Cooper films the starlings in 4K resolution, then designs algorithms to splice together a compelling set of frames. An exhibiting photographer, Kathryn's work has been featured in numerous publications, including bioGraphic, the independent online magazine produced by the California Academy of Sciences.

kathryncooperwildlife.com

For more than two decades, Camille Seaman has documented the rapidly changing landscapes of Earth’s polar regions through the lens of portraiture rather than landscape. Camille’s perspective is entwined with her Shinnecock tribal identity, which taught her from an early age to recognize all living beings—trees, spiders, fish, and even ice—as individual members of one, enormous family. Her dynamic images embed her subjects in an enduring, nourishing, but increasingly strained relationship with their environment—of which humans are an integral part. She is a National Geographic Contributing Photographer, TED Senior Fellow, Stanford Knight Fellow, and CIR Filmmaker in Residence Fellow. Her photographs have won many awards including the Daniel Pearl Award for Outstanding Reporting. Camille has been a BigPicture judge and a portfolio of her work will be featured in the BigPicture/California Academy of Sciences book, Seeing It All, to be published in the fall of 2023.

camilleseaman.com

Rhonda Rubinstein is a Canadian creative director and curator based in San Francisco, where she combines her passions for nature, photography, storytelling and design to produce transformative moments in all media. As the Creative Director of the California Academy of Sciences— a purpose-based museum and research institution renowned for its aquarium, planetarium, rainforest, and architecture— she orchestrates how design, photography, typography and information converge in the public experience as exhibitions, environmental graphics, and print, digital and interactive communications. At the Academy, Rhonda co-founded the BigPicture Natural World Photography initiative, an acclaimed annual international competition focused on wildlife and conservation photography, currently in its 10th year. Her second book, Seeing It All: Women Photographers Expose Our Planet will be published in the fall of 2023 by Goff Books. Rhonda grew up in Montreal where Expo 67 and its legacy influenced her worldview on humanity, media, and the potential of collective culture.

Read more
Museum

Public
Pour tous

En suspens / en mouvement

01 novembre 2023 au 26 mai 2024
Toute la journée

Cette exposition extérieure plonge le public dans certains des plus beaux spectacles de la nature qui se déploient dans le ciel. En suspens / en mouvement juxtapose les œuvres photographiques de Kathryn Cooper et de Camille Seaman, deux photographes qui présentent des points de vue uniques sur la fluidité du temps et de la nature. Camille Seaman, dans une direction, met en scène des icebergs sous l’éclairage dramatique du solstice de l’Antarctique. Le ciel qui s’assombrit amplifie le spectre de la disparition de la glace dans nos régions polaires en pleine mutation. Dans l’autre sens, Kathryn Cooper jumelle plusieurs images à haute résolution pour capturer le mouvement fluide des étourneaux migrateurs dans l’Angleterre rurale. Les nuées d’étourneaux dans le ciel se transforment en motifs dynamiques révélant des comportements invisibles à l’œil nu. Ensemble, ces suites d’images nous donnent à voir le magnifique phénomène de la nature à l’œuvre.

Commissariée par Rhonda Rubinstein, En suspens / en mouvement est produite en partenariat avec l’Académie des sciences de Californie (San Francisco).

L’Académie des sciences de Californie

L'Académie des sciences de Californie est une institution scientifique et éducative renommée dont la mission est de régénérer le monde naturel par le biais de la science, de l’apprentissage et de la collaboration. Sise dans le Golden Gate Park de San Francisco, elle abrite un aquarium, un planétarium et un musée d’histoire naturelle de calibre mondiale, tout en proposant des programmes innovants dans les domaines de la science de la biodiversité, de l’apprentissage environnemental et de l’engagement collaboratif, le tout sous un même toit où la vie bat son plein.

Kathryn Cooper est une photographe et une scientifique qui cherche à capter la beauté des systèmes naturels complexes. Formée en physique et en bio-informatique (science des données appliquée aux systèmes biologiques), Kathryn a étudié la structure et la dynamique des réseaux complexes. Ses photographies se concentrent sur le mouvement fluide du vol de dizaines de milliers d’étourneaux migrant, entre novembre et mars, vers une aire locale de repos. Elle a mis au point une approche moderne fondée sur une technique du XIXe siècle, appelée chronophotographie, qui consiste à assembler une séquence d’images afin d’étudier le mouvement. Pour illustrer une chorégraphie particulière d’envolées, Kathryn filme les étourneaux en résolution 4K, puis conçoit des algorithmes afin d’en tirer une série d’images convaincantes. Le travail de Kathryn Cooper a été présenté dans de nombreuses publications, dont bioGraphic, le magazine en ligne indépendant produit par l’Académie des sciences de Californie.

kathryncooperwildlife.com

Depuis plus de vingt ans, Camille Seaman documente l’évolution rapide des paysages des régions polaires de la Terre par le biais du portrait plutôt que du paysage. Le point de vue de Camille est lié à son identité autochtone Shinnecock, qui lui a appris dès son plus jeune âge à reconnaître tous les êtres vivants – les arbres, les araignées, les poissons et même la glace – comme des membres d’une seule et grande famille. Ses images dynamiques plongent ses sujets dans une relation durable et nourrissante, mais de plus en plus tendue, avec leur environnement, dont l’humain fait partie intégrante. Elle est photographe collaboratrice du National Geographic, TED Senior Fellow, Stanford Knight Fellow et CIR Filmmaker in Residence Fellow. Ses photographies ont reçu de nombreuses accolades dont le Daniel Pearl Award for Outstanding Reporting. Camille a été juge à BigPicture et un portfolio de son travail figurera dans la publication BigPicture/California Academy of Sciences, Seeing It All, qui paraîtra à l'automne 2023.

camilleseaman.com

Rhonda Rubinstein est une conservatrice canadienne basée à San Francisco, où elle jumelle ses passions pour la nature, la photographie, la narration et le design afin de créer des moments transformateurs dans tous les médias. En tant que directrice de création au sein de l’Académie des sciences de Californie, à la fois musée et institution de recherche à vocation spécifique réputée pour son aquarium, son planétarium, sa forêt tropicale et son architecture, Rhonda a mis au point une manière de faire converger le design, la photographie, la typographie et l’information dans l’expérience du public par le biais d’expositions, de graphiques environnementaux ainsi que de communications imprimées, numériques et interactives. Au sein de l’Académie, Rhonda a cofondé l’initiative BigPicture Natural World Photography, un concours international annuel acclamé, axé sur la photographie de la faune et de la conservation, qui en est actuellement à sa dixième année. Son deuxième ouvrage, Seeing It All: Women Photographers Expose Our Planet, sera publié à l'automne 2023 par Goff Books. Rhonda a grandi à Montréal où l’Expo 67 et son héritage ont façonné sa vision de l’humanité, des médias et du potentiel de la culture collective.

Lire la suite
Musée
Public
Pour tous